I’m still here!

I haven’t abandoned this blog – really! I’m still reading books in between dealing with everything else I need to be doing. Unfortunately, I ended up being disappointed by the last few books I read and that threw my reading off a bit. Also they were read for the GLBT challenge and I feel disappointed that I didn’t enjoy them as much as I would have liked.

First I read the first two volumes of the “Runaways” comics, by Brian K. Vaughan and Adrian Alphona. I don’t know if it was the comic format or what but the story was taking forever and I wasn’t enjoying it. Plus each volume costs about $7 – not really worth the expense to finally get the whole story. So I ended up going to the Wikipedia article for the comic and reading what happens in the end. There’s also some ableist language (‘lame’ mostly and occasionally the r-word which I will not type out) throughout the book that annoyed me. I get that the characters are teens and that’s how a lot of teens talk but I still didn’t like it.

Then I read “The House You Pass on the Way” by Jacqueline Woodson. I knew it was a short book but I still felt like I didn’t get the whole story. I also wasn’t thrilled with the ending. However, I have to wonder if the reader is meant to feel disappointed with the ending? Because the actions of the characters were disappointing? I really don’t know.

However I later went back to an old favorite “The Pelican Brief” by John Grisham which I probably read about five years ago so I’m counting it as new for this year. I’ll write a longer review later on for this but I really enjoyed reading it again. And I plan to read more of his books in the future.

I’m currently reading “Falcon Quinn and the Black Mirror” by Jennifer Finney Boylan, and enjoying it so far.

This entry was posted in General Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.