January Wrap Up

Reading

I managed to read three books in one month. Granted they were all 300 pages or less so that helped. Still I think I’m off to a good start.

Watching

I’m still watching my shows, but I haven’t been posting about them. I’m not sure if I will after this post as I’ve said previously I don’t usually have a lot to say about individual episodes – I’m more likely to comment with overall thoughts about what’s been happening on the shows.

Fringe is still my favorite show and I’m loving the characters, but the episodes don’t feel as exciting this year. I liked how much information we got last year about what was happening – yes we got more questions than answers but we were still getting a lot of information about the overall plot of the alternate reality. This year has been a lot of filler episodes that don’t have a lot to do with the overall plot. There has been some new information but mostly the focus has been on the individual stories.

White Collar is all about being fun. I love the friendship between Neal and Peter that is developing. Also love how they are handling Peter’s wife, Elizabeth. She never complains about all the stuff that goes on and is very understanding of her husbands job. She also likes Neal wants him and Peter to be friends. There is one plot line that I wish they’d hurry up and resolve as I think it’s hurting the show. I get that they want some conflict but the plot line doesn’t really do the characters any favors.

Castle is still fun and I’m enjoying it a lot, but I’m hoping they don’t go much further when the romance between Castle and Beckett. It would change the tone of the show if they did. Yes they are attracted to each other but that shouldn’t be what the show is about.

As for movies I recently watched Avatar, which proved that I’d rather read a book than watch a movie. With books you can gain a deeper understanding of the characters – who they are and why they behave the way that they do. Movies are superficial and are more about special effects and visual excitement than the story and characters. Books let you get into the characters head in ways that shows and movies never can. Yes, you get a bit more with TV shows as you learn more over time, but it’s still not the same. I don’t know that I will bother to review any more movies on this blog. I don’t have a lot to say after watching them and I’d rather read/review books.

Blogging

I totally failed in my goal to comment on more blogs last month – hopefully I’ll do better in February. I have, however, been reading several blogs where various issues have been discussed and linking to a couple. Going to try to do more linking though and more commenting on blogs!

This entry was posted in General Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to January Wrap Up

  1. Marie says:

    I saw your comment about “only” reading a few books in January and I have to say, I’m right there with you- don’t feel bad! Apart from graphic novels, which are short and don’t count, I only read 3 novels in January, too! :-)

  2. Amanda says:

    I’ve decided not to do monthly roundup posts this year. I’m not sure why, but for some reason I just don’t want to do the work for it. I think I’ll be doing a quarterly post instead.

  3. Jen says:

    @Marie – Thanks for the comment! To be honest, I was mostly teasing and being a bit of a wise ass. I’m sure there are just as many people who have read less than 10 books. :)

    @Amanda – Well I thought it would be nice to start doing them as I didn’t last year. Also it’s incentive to read books and comment on/link to more blogs, so I have something to post at the end of the month!

Comments are closed.