A year of blogging… Looking back at 2009

Okay technically I started this blog in February so it really hasn’t been a year, yet. However, I did start reading the first book I reviewed some time after Christmas last year so it’s close enough. Also, I wanted to start fresh with my reading count at zero and to be able to start new challenges fresh. I read 19 books last year which isn’t a bad number, but definitely room for improvement. My primary goal for 2010 will be to read 25 books total – and I’m going to force myself to read more often during the week and on weekends, not just at night before bed. I will also be participating in various challenges throughout the year.

I’ve also enjoyed meeting new people through out the year, both through blogs and on Twitter, but I do want to try harder to comment on other people’s blogs. When I do reviews in the future I’m going to start linking to reviews by others as well. I have accounts on GoodReads and Twitter if anyone would like to add me to their reading/follow lists.

Books Reviewed in 2009

  1. “Consider Phlebas” by Iain M. Banks
  2. “Serenity comics” by Joss Whedon and others
  3. “A Wizard of Earthsea” by Ursula K. Le Guin
  4. “American Gods” by Neil Gaiman
  5. “Futureland” by Walter Mosley
  6. “Smoke and Mirrors” by Neil Giaman
  7. “Mojo: Conjure Stories” edited by Nalo Hopkinson
  8. “Ragamuffin” by Tobias Buckell
  9. “Storm Front” by Jim Butcher
  10. “Hartshot” Steven F. Havill
  11. “The Shadow Speaker” by Nnedi Okorafor
  12. “Angels and Demons” by Dan Brown
  13. “Hero” by Perry Moore
  14. “The Graveyard Book” by Neil Gaiman
  15. “Skin Folk” by Nalo Hopkinson
  16. “Something Wicked This Way Comes” by Ray Bradbury
  17. “Absolute Brightness” by James Lecesne
  18. “I’m Looking Through You: Growing Up Hunted: A Memoir” by Jennifer Finney Boylan
  19. “Crystal Rain” by Tobias S. Buckell

Reading Challenges

The Diversity Rocks Challenge – Created by Ali of Worducopia :

  1. “Futureland” by Walter Mosley
  2. “Mojo: Conjure Stories” edited by Nalo Hopkinson
  3. “Ragamuffin” by Tobias Buckell
  4. “The Shadow Speaker” by Nnedi Okorafor
  5. “Skin Folk” by Nalo Hopkinson
  6. “Crystal Rain” by Tobias S. Buckell

The GLBT Challenge – Created by Amanda of The Zen Leaf:

  1. “Hero” by Perry Moore
  2. “Skin Folk” by Nalo Hopkinson
  3. “Absolute Brightness” by James Lecesne
  4. “I’m Looking Through You: Growing Up Hunted: A Memoir” by Jennifer Finney Boylan

The Readers Imbibing Peril (RIP) Challenge – Created by Carl of Stainless Steel Droppings:

  1. “The Graveyard Book” by Neil Gaiman
  2. “Skin Folk” by Nalo Hopkinson
  3. “Something Wicked This Way Comes” by Ray Bradbury

TV Shows and Movies

There have been a number of TV shows I’ve mentioned in one way or another. Some I started watching but didn’t continue and others were older shows that I stopped watching along the way. I still tend to talk about shows in general rather than reviewing specific episodes – usually because I don’t have a lot to say about individual episodes. I think I’ll make a post for each of the three shows I’m currently watching to discuss them further. As of right now Fringe, Castle and White Collar are my favorite shows, though White Collar may be in trouble depending on how the mid-season cliffhanger is resolved. I started watching FlashForward and The Forgotten this year but didn’t make it past the first few episodes for either one for various reasons. NCIS: Los Angeles I gave a second chance to but the show blew it in the last episode I saw. Despite having once loved NCIS I am no longer watching it for a number of reasons. I never did give Stargate: Universe a chance and I doubt I ever will – there are too many issues to count and I lost all trust in the producers/writers a while back. It got renewed for a second season (which apparently was something they had been guaranteed when they made the deal with the network) but my problems with it still exist. Over the summer I watched three new shows – Merlin which I ended up getting bored with, The Listener which I enjoyed but NBC canceled it half way through the first season, and Warehouse 13 which I stopped watching because I got tired of the obnoxious humor and the racist stereotypes.

As for movies I only ended up reviewing two new movies, because I only saw two new movies this year believe it or not. Well except for Harry Potter 6 which I walked out of before the first 30 minutes were up – there was a major deviation from the books that bothered me more than I thought it would – and more than the previous movies had done. The two movies I reviewed were “X-Men Origins: Wolverine” (which I didn’t enjoy all that much), and Star Trek which I ended up seeing three times and reviewed twice, once without spoilers and once with spoilers. When the DVD came out I saw it a fourth time and while I still like it overall there are several issues that I hope they improve on in the next movie. Some of the call backs to the original series/movies were a little over the top and the plot rather convoluted to get everyone together on the Enterprise. There are at least three movies coming up that I’d like to see and review for 2010 – however I’m not sure yet if I’ll see them in the theater or wait for them to come out on DVD. I’m also debating whether or not to see Avatar – I’ve heard many negative things about that movie but also good things about it – it might be something I should to watch to form my own opinion on it, good or bad.

This entry was posted in General Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A year of blogging… Looking back at 2009

  1. Amanda says:

    Good luck with your goal next year! This year was the first one I had a reading goal for – 100 books – and I just panicked that I wouldn’t be able to do it and ended up reading so obsessively that I hit that in June. My goal for next year is to SLOW DOWN and only read about 100 books, rather than the 182 from this year.

    I haven’t even heard of most of the TV shows you watch. I guess I’m just not a TV person. The only show I watch is NCIS, and the news (which doesn’t really count).

  2. Trisha says:

    It’s been fun getting to know you these past months, and I look forward to reading your blog this coming year. Good luck on your goals and let’s both hope that some good tv comes out (hello Lost?) in January.

  3. debnance says:

    I’ve found that the more I visit other people’s blogs, the more they visit mine.
    And that’s nice.

    I’m about a year and a half into blogging and I love it. I only require myself to post once a week. That’s do-able.

    Happy holidays!

  4. Ali says:

    Thanks for participating in the Diversity Rocks challenge — nearly 1/3 of the books you read this year met the challenge parameters. That’s awesome!

Comments are closed.