Reading Challenge: Sci Fi Experience 2010

SCIFI Experience

I will be participating in Carl’s (Stainless Steel Droppings) Science Fiction Experience 2010. The goal is to enjoy any form of science fiction from January 1st, 2010 through February 28th, 2010. This is a more relaxed challenge as there is no official sign up or number of books you have to read. Just enjoy reading or watching science fiction in any form or even a video game.

Anyone who visits here regularly should know that science fiction is my favorite genre. It’s the genre that I always come back to no matter what other genres I may visit on occasion. I’ve loved it since I was 7 years old and watched Star Trek: The Next Generation for the first time. Below are comments Carl made in last years announcement for the experience, I agree with him completely:

“Science Fiction as a genre and the art of reading have been inextricably linked together as far back as my earliest solo reading memories. It is a bond that the passage of time and my own growth as a reader has not severed. In fact it is quite the opposite. As my length of days stretch out before me I find the ties to my own past growing ever more strong and ever more important.”

“More than any other genre of fiction, science fiction reading is to me an experience– not only does it transport me to another time and place in the future but it also transports me to my past and as such creates an aura of reading that is wonderful to experience but difficult to describe. I can only hope that you fellow readers are nodding your heads in agreement right now, recalling similar experiences that you have with various novels and/or genres of fiction.”

~ Carl V. Anderson

And a quote from Issac Asimov:

Individual science fiction stories may seem as trivial as ever to the blinder critics and philosophers of today — but the core of science fiction, its essence, has become crucial to our salvation, if we are to be saved at all. ~ Issac Asimov

This entry was posted in General Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.