Reading updates & plans for 2010

I feel like I’m having a hard time getting into reading a book after I finish one. It’s like I don’t know what I really want to read and I can’t force myself to read something. Also I feel guilty when I abandon a book – like I’m giving up too easily on it. Part of the problem is that if I don’t get attached to the characters right away I get bored with the plot – especially if there is a lot of narration or internal thoughts rather than dialogue. I can read a plot full of holes or other issues if I like the characters well enough. For example when I read Nail Giaman’s “American Gods” – I didn’t enjoy the overall plot but I did enjoy finding out what happened to the main character – Shadow.

Anyway below are the books read/reviewed, and the books I abandoned:

Read and Reviewed

Abandoned for one reason or another

  • Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami – I had actually started reading this a while back and stopped when I hit a plot point I didn’t like. When I tried to continue reading I realized I was having trouble keeping track of the back and forth method of telling two stories at once.
  • Flashforward by Robert J. Sawyer – I ended up having too much trouble with the writing style. There were a lot of narration and internal thoughts that didn’t hold my attention enough to keep going.

Currently Reading

  • So Long Been Dreaming: Postcolonial Science Fiction & Fantasy edited by Nalo Hopkinson

I’ve decided not to list the TBR books again as I want to focus on the challenges I’m doing in 2010 and many of the books in the original pile don’t actually fit them. I’ll still read them eventually but sometime later in the year.

Reading Challenges for 2010

I’ll be continuing with the The Diversity Rocks Challenge by Ali of Worducopia. I need to try harder to find and books to read by Asian, Hispanic/Latino, and Native American authors, rather than allowing myself to fall into the trap of only reading books by black authors. My primary goal is at least two books for each category by the end of 2010 – and to read at least 2 in any category before I an read another book by a black author. Also I’m going to try and avoid reading books by authors I’ve already read – need to find more new authors to love!

As posted previously I will also be doing the GLBT Reading challenge created by Amanda of The Zen Leaf.

There are a couple other challenges that I’ve been thinking of joining or ones I’ve thought of myself. I’ll do a more official post at the first of the year for all of my challenges and goals for 2010.

This entry was posted in General Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.