New TV Show – Castle

Nathan Fillion stars as Richard Castle, a famous mystery novelist who is initially called in to help the NYPD solve a copy-cat murder based on his novels. Stana Katic stars opposite as the young detective Kate Beckett. Following his encounter with Beckett, Castle decides to use her as the model for his next book series. He uses his contacts and receives permission to accompany Beckett while investigating cases. While technically a drama series, Castle also features comedy and romantic tension.

Source: Wikipedia’s Castle Page

Today I discovered a new show, which I actually knew about before but the summary of it didn’t sound appealing at the time. Especially since it had the words – Romance and Comedy in it… Romance is my least favorite genre and I’m rather fussy about comedy – mainly I prefer it in small doses. Not even knowing that Nathan Fillion, who I loved from Firefly, was in it could make me watch it based on the ABC description.

Anyway today I was home with nothing to do and was bored, and I noticed that there were some episodes from season 2 on Hulu.com. And I remembered that my brother had recommended it a few weeks ago – and even though he likes the kind of humor I hate – I should have remembered we do actually have similar tastes when it comes to TV shows. So I watched the five most recent episodes – 2×04 through 2×08 which is the episode that aired on Monday – and fell in love with the show. The humor took some getting used to – it’s a bit over the top in places, but it’s never demeaning or slapstick. And while yes there’s some romantic tension between the two main characters it never gets in the way of the case – at least not in the episodes I saw. I love all of the characters and the way they interact with each other. Especially Castle’s relationship with his mother and daughter who both live with him.

There’s also a lot of geeky stuff within the show. Castle being an author is always talking about his books and finding things cool simply because he can put them in his books. Also for the Halloween episode Castle dressed up as Mal from Firefly – in show he said he was a Space Cowboy but anyone who’s seen Firefly would recognize the costume. Also there’s an in joke where Alexis (Castle’s daughter) sees the costume and points out the he wore it 5 years ago, and isn’t it time to let it go? (NEVER!) :)

Now I need to see about catching up with the episodes I’ve missed! The first season DVDs are definitely going on my Christmas list! Watch Castle Monday nights on ABC at 10pm!

This entry was posted in TV Shows. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New TV Show – Castle

  1. Trisha says:

    I’ve been watching this, and I just can’t decide. I love Nathan Fillion, so it definitely has that going for it; but I’m not sure how much this adoration affects my interpretation of the show. It is his character and his humor that keeps me coming back for more. I almost wish the detective thing could take a back seat to his family life though as that is the interesting part to me.

Comments are closed.