Star Trek

It’s been years since I watched a full episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation and I don’t like it as much as I once did but but it was the first TV Show I fell in love with as well as being my first taste of science fiction. The story goes that when I was about 9 years old I walked into the family room where my dad was watching an episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation and asked, “What’s this?” and was hooked. From then on I never missed an episode of TNG and we taped every episode. Deep Space Nine was also a favorite and I think I enjoyed watching it more than TNG. Though to be honest I don’t remember a lot of it.

I tried to like Voyager but I got bored with it part way through the first season. And I never could buy into the idea of Enterprise being a prequel to the Original Series. There were too many differences and changes to established canon – especially with regards to the Vulcans. Not to mention they ended up bringing the Borg into it who had never been seen until the years of TNG!

Somewhere in the middle of all of the other Treks I saw the Star Trek movies and really fell in love with the characters from the original show – and they remain my favorits to this day. Out of all of the movies my favorits are Star Trek 2: Wrath of Kahn, Star Trek 3: The Search for Spock and Star Trek 4: The Voyage Home, which I reviewed previously. The first, and fifth movies have their good points but are generally considered to “not really exist” by most. The sixth – The Undiscovered Country is another favorite and I love the way it brings to an end the story of the Enterprise crew.

As for the original show I finally got to watch all of the episodes when they aired on SciFi Channel a while back and enjoyed them all. Of all the Treks the original is definitely my favorite series. I enjoy the character interactions on TOS a lot more than all the others and I can remember the plots of most of the episodes better than the rest of them as well. I’ve always enjoyed the relationships between the characters, especially Kirk, Spock and McCoy.

In addition to the shows and movies I’ve also read many of the Star Trek Novels. At one point I had nearly every Original Series and Next Generation book published by Pocket Books. As with anything there are awesome books and horrible books and everything in between. I’ll write a separate post about the books at some point but for anyone who’d like to read a Star Trek novel I would suggest starting with any of the books Diane Duane wrote as I think they’re among the best written in terms of plot and characterizations – with “Spock’s World” being my all time favorite.

This entry was posted in Movies, TV Shows. Bookmark the permalink.