CORA Diversity Roll Call: Short Stories

diversity roll call

Color Online is sponsoring this edition of CORA Diversity Roll Call:

“Give us a list of your favorite short story titles. Do a profile of a short story author. What were your favorite short story reads this year?”

My favorite short story collection read and reviewed so far was “Mojo: Conjure Stories” edited by Nalo Hopkinson. There are nineteen stories by various authors and if I’m remembering right all but two are by authors of color. Reading the short stories in the book has led me to new authors – which is why I love reading short story collections.

Tobias Buckell’s short story “Death’s Dreadlocks” is one of my favorites from the collection and I’ve since read his book “Ragamuffin” which I enjoyed even though it’s actually the middle book of his trilogy. I’ve got the first book “Crystal Rain” in my TBR pile. Also be sure to check out Waiting for the Zephyr – a story he wrote for the anthology Wastelands – some of the stories are now available online.

Another author I discovered from the collection is Nnedi Okorafor. While her short story wasn’t one of my favorites I was interested enough to look for her other works and have since read “The Shadow Speaker” which I loved. Also be sure to check out her short story “From the Lost Diary of TreeFrog7 at Clarkesworld Magazine!

Though Hopkinson didn’t write a story for the collection I did want to read something by her. I just finished reading “Skin Folk” which is a collection of fifteen short stories all with the theme of people not being what they seem. As I say in my review I enjoyed all of the stories – even the ones I didn’t fully understand. Small warning on this one – there is one story that might be overly disturbing/triggering when you realize what the point of view character is – though it never goes as far as it could and the ending makes it worth reading if you can.

There is another anthology edited by Nalo Hopkinson (co-edited with Uppinder Mehan) that I’d like to read at some point – “So Long Been Dreaming: Postcolonial Science Fiction & Fantasy“. It’s a collection of original new stories by leading African, Asian, South Asian and Aboriginal authors, as well as North American and British writers of color.

The Synapses from Barnes & Nobel includes:

“Stories of imagined futures abound in Western writing. Writer and editor Nalo Hopkinson notes that the science fiction/fantasy genre “speaks so much about the experience of being alienated but contains so little writing by alienated people themselves.” It’s an oversight that Hopkinson and Mehan aim to correct with this anthology.”

This entry was posted in General Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CORA Diversity Roll Call: Short Stories

  1. Doret says:

    So Long Been Dreaming looks like something I would check out. Its seems short stories were made for the sci fi/ fantasy genre. Thanks for pointing out a few titles now if only I can remember them to impress customers.

Comments are closed.