Remembering “Reading Rainbow”

Recently, I started following LeVar Burton on twitter (@levarburton) and today he posted a link about “Reading Rainbow” ending it’s run on PBS. He also asked his followers what their favorite episodes were.

It’s been years since I thought about “Reading Rainbow”, but I remember that I loved watching it! I probably started watching it sometime in the late 80s after it had been on a couple years as I would have only been 4 when it started. I have a few clear memories of episodes – most clearly the one where Burton did a behind the scenes episode about “Star Trek: The Next Generations” – another favorite show at the time (yes I was a Science Fiction geek even then)! I also remember one about him needing to follow clues to his birthday party, and another where he met with someone who did a computer animation for an Asian boat shaped like a dragon – something like that anyway – pretty sure it was from a book? And I still love the Theme Song!

Butterfly in the sky, I can go twice as high
Take a look, it’s in a book – Reading Rainbow.

I can go anywhere!
Friends to know and ways to grow – Reading Rainbow.

I can be anything!
Take a look, it’s in a book – Reading Rainbow.

Reading Rainbow, Reading Rainbow, Reading Rainbow, Reading Rainbow!

Reading Rainbow theme song lyrics

Anyone else got memories of “Reading Rainbow” they’d like to share?

This entry was posted in General Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.