Fall 2009 TV, What will you be watching?

For today’s Sunday Salon I thought I’d ask what everyone is going to be watching on TV this fall. I’ve also included my viewing choices – all times are USA Eastern. For those of you in other contras I’d love to know more about what shows you’ve got that might not. Also if anyone in Canada knows the fate of The Listener that would be awesome (NBC canceled it here but since it’s a Canadian production it might continue in Canada).

Retuning Shows

Fringe, Season 2 – (Thursdays at 9pm on FOX, starting September 17th). I’m really looking forward to it. The characters are awesome and while the overall plot seems overly completed at times the individual episodes are nearly always fun to watch. I really like the team of Olivia, Walter and Peter and I’m looking forward to seeing how things develop now that Olivia knows what Walter has done in the past. I’m also curious to see Peter’s reaction will be when he certain things out. In case you missed it the season 1 DVDs will be available September 8th. Also be sure to check out Fringe Television for the latest Fringe related news – beware spoilers!

NCIS, Season 7 – Tuesdays at 8pm on CBS, starting September 22nd). While I still love the characters I haven’t been all that impressed with the writing lately. It seems like the stories have gotten stale and the writers are going for comic relief more than anything else. Characters who had moments of immaturity but acted professionally when it counted have gotten much more immature and childish in the last couple of seasons. Others have fallen victim of idiot plots more often than not (The McGee I remember would have known immediately that Tony was playing a trick on him via the internet – that’s HIS skill set for crying out loud). I’ve also said previously that reached a point where I am fed up with how women are treated on that show. It seems like every female character is doomed to be killed or end up doing something to betray their country and then be killed or develops an obsession with catching someone who hurt them in the past … and be killed. I think I’ll give it one more season just to see what happens but I’m not expecting much. Plus it’s on right before the new spin off so I might as well watch them both.

New Shows

Note: Some of this was posted previously, but I’ve added some additional information.

NCIS: Los Angeles (Tuesdays at 9pm on CBS, Starting September 22nd). The NCIS spin off “a drama about the high stakes world of undercover surveillance at the Office of Special Projects (OSP), a division of NCIS that is charged with apprehending dangerous and elusive criminals that pose a threat to the nation’s security.” Staring Chris O’Donnell and LL Cool J among others. I’ll give this one a chance since I have enjoyed NCIS. I also think part of the reason I’ve not been enjoying NCIS as much is the writers have gotten bored with writing those characters. (Sometimes letting a show run too long can be just as bad as not letting it run long enough). I recently learned that they dropped the original female lead Louise Lombard and are going to recast. They’ve also added Linda Hunt to the cast, apparently not as a replacement for Lombard so I don’t know if there is another female lead they are going to be adding or if they’ve moved O’Donnell’s character to the main lead spot? Guess I’ll have to wait until it airs to find that out.

The Forgotten – (Tuesdays at 10pm on ABC, Starting September 22nd) “Every city has its share of unidentified murder victims. When standard police procedure fails to give them a name, that’s when the Identity Network steps in. ” Staring Christian Slater and Michelle Borth amend others. Apparently this was another show where part of the cast was re-cast, and I think the name of the show was changed as well. It’s another mystery show similar to Cold Case or Without a Trace but the premise sounds interesting. I’m sure I’ll get bored after a while like I did with Cold Case/Eleventh Hour but I figure it will be fun to watch the first few episodes at least. One issue is the time – 10pm – as I don’t usually stay up that late. On the other hand it should be available online which works as long as there are captions.

Day One (Midseason – Mondays at 9pm on NBC – Still no official start date) “In the aftermath of a global event that devastates the world’s infrastructures, a small band of survivors strives to rebuild society and unravel the mysteries of why the event took place and what the future has in store.” – I’ve got a feeling this one won’t last but you never know. It’s also the only new Science Fiction show that sounds appealing to me. There are a couple others that fit into the Science Fiction/Fantasy genres but none of the plots sounded all that appealing. Oh well, at least I’ve still got Fringe for another season.

This entry was posted in TV Shows. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fall 2009 TV, What will you be watching?

  1. Amanda says:

    I will definitely be watching both NCIS shows. NCIS is the only show that I watch, the only time I turn on the TV except for the news, and I’m excited about the new spinoff, too.

  2. Dani in NC says:

    I will continue to watch NCIS only because I’ve watched it this long and I like the actors. Once I get past a certain point with a show, I will usually watch it until it is canceled even if the writing has gone downhill. I will not be watching the spinoff because none of the actors interest me.

    The show I’m really looking forward to right now is Bones. I didn’t watch it when it premiered several years’ ago, but we rented the DVDs this summer and caught up marathon-style. When you do it that way, it feels like a new show instead of a five-year-old one.

  3. Jen says:

    Dani – Yeah I pretty much do the same thing when it comes to long running shows. Probably why I watched Stargate Atlantis until the bitter end. My parents love Bones and while I can watch it every now and then I get annoyed with what seems like over the top emotional bloodletting on the part of some of the characters. I realize the point was that they were dealing with their issues but seeing the character’s issues dealt with isn’t really my cup of tea.

Comments are closed.