“The Graveyard Book” by Neil Gaiman

The Graveyard Book Book Cover

“The Graveyard Book” by Neil Gaiman
Publication Date: September 2008
ISBN: 9780060530921
Number of Pages: 320

Nobody Owens, known to his friends as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn’t live in a sprawling graveyard, being raised and educated by ghosts, with a solitary guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor of the dead. There are dangers and adventures in the graveyard for a boy. But if Bod leaves the graveyard, then he will come under attack from the man Jack—who has already killed Bod’s family . . .

Source: Barnes & Noble page for The Grave Yard Book

“The Graveyard Book” is the first book read for Carl’s RIP Challenge – yes read before the official start date, but he DID say we could start early! Anyway while I liked reading the book I wasn’t exactly impress with it in the end. Nothing much happens for most of the book and even when stuff does happen it’s vaguely described and there isn’t a lot of excitement either way. On the other hand I really liked all of the main characters – they were well developed and I enjoyed reading about them – with the exception of the bad guys who were still pretty vague. I think I feel about this book similarly to how I felt about Gaiman’s book “American Gods” which I reviewed previously. My enjoyment of the characters kept me reading even though I wasn’t impressed with the plot.

Since I don’t have a lot to say about here are two other reviews for the book – one negative, one positive:

Ali of Worducpia read it with her boys and they didn’t enjoy it very much. I agree with their overall evaluations of the book.

On the other hand Becky of Becky’s Book Reviews loved it. She’s got some good points in her review and it’s good to know someone got more out of it than I did.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Young Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “The Graveyard Book” by Neil Gaiman

  1. Carl V. says:

    I am sorry you didn’t enjoy this one as much as others did. Like any book that has a degree of popularity it is easy to find people whose experiences with it are all over the positive/negative spectrum.

    I found the book lovely, moving, and an amazing reading experience. I liked it even more the second time I ‘read’ it (the second time was listening to it on audio after I had actually read the book). I think it is so interesting that there are some people, myself included, who think that Neil Gaiman is an absolute master with words and others who think his writing is terrible. Again, makes for interesting conversations and it would be a dull world if we all raved about exactly the same things.

    I hope the rest of your reading for the RIP Challenge is more engaging for you. Thanks for posting the link and please post any more for book reviews you do. :)

  2. deslily says:

    I am reading this book right now. I did read the “short story” version of it a year or so ago. I have a feeling i will not rave about it either although I do think I will enjoy it. In other words, mixed feelings. I’ve only read one other book by Gaiman “stardust” and liked parts and other parts I thought “eh”.. I do hope I am wrong and like this one better. I do like when people “tell it like it is” and not try to candy coat a “not great review” just because others loved the book.

    good review!

  3. Jen says:

    Carl: Neil Gaiman is an absolute master with words – I actually agree with this. I just don’t find his plots all that interesting or exciting.

    deslily: I’m always one for telling it like it is whether people want me to or not. :)

Comments are closed.