"Angels and Demons" by Dan Brown

Angels and Demons Book Cover

“Angels and Demons” by Dan Brown
Publication Date: May 2000
ISBN: 9781416578741
Number of Pages: 736

World-renowned Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon is summoned to a Swiss research facility to analyze a cryptic symbol seared into the chest of a murdered physicist. What he discovers is unimaginable: a deadly vendetta against the Catholic Church by a centuries-old underground organization – the Illuminati. In a desperate race to save the Vatican from a powerful time bomb, Langdon joins forces in Rome with the beautiful and mysterious scientist Vittoria Vetra. Together they embark on a frantic hunt through sealed crypts, dangerous catacombs, and deserted cathedrals, and into the depths of the most secret vault on earth… the long-forgotten Illuminati lair.

Source: Amazon’s Angels and Demons page

Overall Angels and Demons was a fun read. Most of the information was interesting and it was fun reading how the characters figured everything out. However, there were a lot of places where it felt as though the author was showing off his research. Places where the characters would stop and go for pages to explain the history of what they were talking about. I’m not entirely convinced all of the information dumping it was necessary, mainly because it felt like they stopped the flow of the story. I also thought the repeated flashbacks to explain character motivation only confused things further – which may have been the point but still.

By the end there had been so many twists and turns I wasn’t exactly sure what to think, nor was I trilled to learn who the killer was and why they had been doing what they were doing. I didn’t like the implications that it gave or how it made me feel about who the person represented. And I really didn’t like the aftermath of the reveal and how it ended up being handled – more lies and coverups than I wanted to know about.

Despite the problems I think I’m going to read Brown’s other books because even though I wasn’t thrilled with the resolution I enjoyed the journey of getting to it, plus I liked the main character – Robert Langdon.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Mystery. Bookmark the permalink.