New Summer Shows: "Warehouse 13" [updated 8/7/09]

Update: As of August 7, 2009 I am no longer watching Warehouse 13 due to the numerous racial stereotypes (some worse than others) the show contains. I only wish I’d realized how bad it was sooner.

After saving the life of the President, two Secret Service agents find themselves abruptly transfered to Warehouse 13 – a massive, top-secret storage facility in windswept South Dakota that houses every strange artifact, mysterious relic, fantastical object and supernatural souvenir ever collected by the U.S. government. The Warehouse’s caretaker Arie (Saul Rubinek) charges Pete (Eddie McClintock) and Myka (Joanne Kelly) with chasing down reports of supernatural and paranormal activity in search of new objects to cache at the Warehouse, as well as helping him to control the warehouse, itself.

Source: SyFy’s “Warehouse 13” page

Another show I’ve been watching this summer, and one that I’m not sure exactly how I feel about it. It’s meant to be more comedy than scifi but I think the show takes it a little too far at times. Nothing is taken seriously and everything is played for a laugh. The thing is though – EVERYTHING is played for a laugh so it’s not one character being mocked and even though I think the humor is overdone it fits the situation. By that I mean instead of there being a random joke or gag within the scene that doesn’t fit what the scene is about, the humor is an exaggeration of what the scene is about. For example if Pete figures something out he might exclaim excitedly about it or when Pete and Myka start bickering it goes on for much longer than you’d expect from two professionals.

Despite my annoyance with the humor there is something about it makes me want to give it another chance. It probably helps that the episodes are on Hulu so I can watch them when I want to rather than at 9pm when my tolerance for the humor is lower because I’m tired. Also the characters ARE interesting – when they aren’t bickering Pete and Myka are pretty cool and do seem to care about each other. Even though they bug each other you know they actually like working together and would defend each other if need be. Artie is fun as well especially when he’s trying to act as a mediator between Pete and Myka. It also helps that Saul Rubinek is a familiar and welcomed face having been on both “Star Trek: The Next Generation”, and “Stargate: SG1”. And speaking of familiar faces Joe Flanigan (John Sheppard from Stargate Atlantis) will be in the August 4th episode!

Warehouse 13 airs Tuesdays at 9pm on Syfy. All of the previous episodes can be found on Hulu’s page for “Warehouse 13”.

This entry was posted in TV Shows. Bookmark the permalink.