Booking Through Thursday: Fantasy and Science Fiction

One of my favorite sci-fi authors (Sharon Lee) has declared June 23rd Fantasy and Science Fiction Writers Day. As she puts it:

So! In my Official Capacity as a writer of science fiction and fantasy, I hereby proclaim June 23 Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Day! A day of celebration and wonder! A day for all of us readers of science fiction and fantasy to reach out and say thank you to our favorite writers. A day, perhaps, to blog about our favorite sf/f writers. A day to reflect upon how written science fiction and fantasy has changed your life.

So … what might you do on the 23rd to celebrate? Do you even read fantasy/sci-fi? Why? Why not?

Source: Booking Through Thursday

Anyone who’s visited this blog should know by now my default genre is Science Fiction. I’ve loved it ever since I was 7 years old and started watching Star Trek: The Next Generation with my Dad. I love how anything is possible in Science Fiction and that the only limits are the imaginations of the writers. Granted some stories are better than others but that’s the same with any genre I think. To celebrate I’ll probably watch a few movies or TV show episodes and I might even make another blog post with my favorite shows and books and movies.

I think some people are turned off by Science Fiction/Fantasy because it’s all “pretend” and about “made up” places and technology. Or because there is a lot of technology and world building within the story that some people can frustrated with easily. I think though the best science fiction/fantasy stories are those that focus on the characters. The stories deal with us as human beings and our place in the grand scheme of things. How we react to changes and adversity. How we deal with each other whether it’s here on Earth or on the Starship Enterprise – it’s all the same story, only the setting has change.

This entry was posted in General Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Booking Through Thursday: Fantasy and Science Fiction

  1. Bluestocking says:

    I love Star Trek! I’ve been reviewing scifi on Fridays! How come I’ve never seen you? Come see my plans for the 23rd. Here is mine

    • Jen says:

      Don’t know why you haven’t seen me before, but I haven’t seen you either! :) I’ll check out your site!

      Have a look at my other Star Trek related posts via the Star Trek category link!

Comments are closed.