New TV Shows for the 2009/2010 season

New shows are always exciting – there’s usually at least one show that catches my attention. Lately though I’ve gotten a lot more fussy about what I’ll continue watching – if I’m bored with the plots or I don’t at least like all of the characters I don’t usually watch for long. Also when I try a new show I never just watch the pilot. From what I’ve seen pilots tend to be filled with a lot of information and an over exaggeration of certain character traits to catch people’s attention and explain who the characters are. Judging a show on a pilot episode a lone doesn’t seem fair when things may be different in future episodes. For the upcoming season there are three shows I’m definitely checking out, two I’m thinking about, and as a bonus one old show to watch because a favorite actor will be in it.

Shows I’m definitely checking out:

The Forgotten – (Fall – Tuesdays at 10pm on ABC) “Every city has its share of unidentified murder victims. When standard police procedure fails to give them a name, that’s when the Identity Network steps in. ” – yes another mystery show similar to Cold Case or Without a Trace but the premise sounds interesting. I’m sure I’ll get bored after a while like I did with Cold Case/Eleventh Hour but I figure it will be fun to watch the first few episodes at least. One issue is the time – 10pm – as I don’t usually stay up that late…

NCIS: Los Angeles (Fall – Tuesdays at 9pm on CBS) – the NCIS spin off “a drama about the high stakes world of undercover surveillance at the Office of Special Projects (OSP), a division of NCIS that is charged with apprehending dangerous and elusive criminals that pose a threat to the nation’s security.” – I’ll give this one a chance since I have enjoyed NCIS. I also think part of the reason I’ve not been enjoying NCIS as much is the writers have gotten bored with writing those characters. (Sometimes letting a show run too long can be just as bad as not letting it run long enough). Though the sexism is still a problem – I wonder if it will be better in this show since they’ve got a female lead this time?

Day One (Midseason – Mondays at 9pm on NBC) “In the aftermath of a global event that devastates the world’s infrastructures, a small band of survivors strives to rebuild society and unravel the mysteries of why the event took place and what the future has in store.” – I’ve got a feeling this one won’t last but you never know.

Two shows I’m thinking of checking out but I’m not sure they’re worth it:

Updated August 18, 2009:
Stargate: Universe – will not be watching

Warehouse 13 – Started watching, but stopped because of the over abundance of racial stereotypes.

The Closer – Watched it for David Hewlett, but I still don’t like show overall

This entry was posted in TV Shows. Bookmark the permalink.