Reading and Watching…

It’s been a rather slow week when it comes to reading. After hitting a scene in “Joplin’s Ghost” I wasn’t thrilled with I decided to put it aside for a while and start reading “Ragamuffin” by Tobias Buckell. “Ragamuffin” is much more interesting and fun to read, though I’m a bit confused by the world Buckell has created. One of the reasons why I love Science Fiction (and Fantasy) is all the possible worlds that can be created by the author, and possibilities are infinite. I only wish that the authors would explain more about the world they’ve created – some do it better than others though sometimes there can be to much explanation. Buckell starts the story in the middle and allows the reader to guess at what’s going on – both fun and frustrating at times.

As for watching – my current favorite TV shows, NCIS and Fringe, are still going strong. NCIS just had a two part episode that was actually an introduction episode for the new, for now untitled, spin-off coming this fall. The characters were interesting though as with most introduction episodes they over did the personalities of the characters and showed off the special effects just a bit to much. I’m looking forward to seeing this new show once it airs. Fringe is heading towards it’s season final and it’s just been confirmed that there will be a season two. The fan site FringeTelevision.com has a ton of information and interviews with the cast if you need to catch up with what’s happened. Be careful of spoilers though – including information about a very special guest appearance in the season final.

I saw two movies last week – one was disappointing and the other was awesome. “X-Men Origins: Wolverine” was a bit of a let down do to a rather boring plot and over done special effects and fight scenes – read my spoiler free review for more. “Star Trek” on the other hand was better than I could ever have imagined and I fell in love with the characters all over again. I’ve got a spoiler free review up already but want to write another longer post talking about everything that happened in the movie at some point. Probably after I see it again sometime next week, maybe I’ll make my own fan site Star Trek with the new cast.

Okay enough babbling – time to see what everyone else is writing today

This entry was posted in General Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading and Watching…

  1. Alyce says:

    Wasn’t the Star Trek movie great? I couldn’t believe how fast the time passed while I was watching it, and I can’t wait until it comes out on dvd.

  2. Frances says:

    Loved Star Trek too! Was so concerned it was going to be over the top, but it was just the right touch of camp and humor and homage to the original series. And the actor playing young Spock was spot on. Geeky admissions complete. Have a happy reading week!

Comments are closed.