Movie Review: Star Trek (no spoilers)

In an effort to not have spoilers this will be deliberately short and vague. I may write up another post with more discussion of the move with spoilers at a later date.

I have to admit I was really nervous about this movie. I was afraid they would change the characters in ways I would hate. The previews seemed to be about being bright and loud and flashy – as if they were showing off the cool new look, and I was afraid they would forget to tell a good story, because of it. It has happened before – X:Men Origins: Wolverine being the most recent example, and the Star Wars prequels another. Also I think in some ways I was afraid that the new version would somehow undo the originals – that they’d be lost to those of us who remember the old version.

Not only did they tell an awesome story – they nailed it. The story was awesome and the characters were nearly perfect. I feel like I fell in love with Star Trek all over again – and that is something I didn’t expect. All the call backs to the original version felt just right and the actors did an awesome job portraying the characters I love. I also love that they found a way to make a new version without really damaging the old. What they created was an entirely new canon and I can’t wait until the next great adventure.

The only real problem I had with the movie was the music. To me it was too loud, however I suspect this has more to do with my hearing than anything else – I’m hard of hearing and the music was hitting my better hearing range and got a little distracting in places when it was particularly loud or higher pitched. On the other hand the volume of the dialogue was nearly perfect and I had almost no problems with any of the accents – and that’s saying something.

Everyone should go see this movie – fans of the original or new fans who want something fun to watch. It’s awesome and well worth paying to see it on the big screen. I’m definitely going again next week because I want to see if I can pick up things that I missed. The characters we knew all those years ago are back again and it’s exciting to see the new version of Kirk, Spock, McCoy, Scotty, Sulu, Uhura, and Checkov and of course the Starship Enterprise.

Go see the movie. It’s exciting!

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Movie Review: Star Trek (no spoilers)

  1. Adam Morgan says:

    You’re right – the music was certainly blaring! I loved the score, except for the Romulan theme.

    I’m glad to see it held up for a real trekkie!

Comments are closed.