Read-a-Thon Post #5 – Final Hours

I went to bed at 9:30pm after reading one more story Mojo: Conjure Stories, and then woke up at 4am and started reading at 4:30am – finished the last 5 stories in the book.

Next I looked for more stories to read in Free Speculative Fiction Online, but didn’t find anything except for one story by Neil Gaiman: The Case of the Four and Twenty Blackbirds – a neat twist to the usual nursery rhymes. The story is on Giaman’s web site and while you’re there you should check out his blog as well!

Then I decided to take a shower and make coffee before answering the questions for the last hour post:

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? – The late afternoon and evening hours since I’m way too much of a morning person.

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? – they were all short stories but I would suggest if you like speculative fiction to check out the Free Speculative Fiction Online site linked above.

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? – No

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? – I’m not sure, I stayed mostly on the fringes of everything just going along with reading the short stories

5. How many books did you read? – 21 short stories of varying lengths.

6. What were the names of the books you read? – Mojo: Conjure Stories was the main collection of stories I was reading

7. Which book did you enjoy most?Waiting for the Zephyr by Tobias S. Buckell, it may have been about the Apocalypse, but it was also a story about hope.

8. Which did you enjoy least? I didn’t really have a least favorite – if I didn’t like the story I didn’t read all the way.

9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I wasn’t a cheerleader

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? – I’m not sure if I would do it again as a reader since I really can’t read one book for to long and I’d like to read something other than short stories online. I think I’d definitely plan things better and have a stack of stories to read – collections or something – or plan to do a marathon reading of a something I’ve already read before like all of the Young Wizards series. Not sure I’d ever stay up 24 hours though since I tend to start crashing early in the evening. Cheerleader might be something I could do. I’ll have to see when the next time comes around.

This entry was posted in Read-a-Thon. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Read-a-Thon Post #5 – Final Hours

  1. Eva says:

    Eek! Sorry! I’ve been up too long and my copy and paste dealy was wonky. What I was trying to say was…

    Way to go finishing up that last book!

  2. Jen says:

    @Eva – It’s okay, I’ll delete the other comment so your email address isn’t out there for anyone to see. Thanks for commenting!

  3. Blodeuedd says:

    Cheerleading was fun :D
    But I will sure try to be a reader next time too, dunno about keeping awake though lol

  4. Maree says:

    Cheerleading is fun. But then, so is reading … :)

  5. Beth F says:

    I liked cheerleading!

  6. I have a short attention span. Next time I hope to have a number of short stories and some graphic novels to hopefully keep my interest.

Comments are closed.