Read-A-Thon Post #4 – Mid-Event Survey

1. What are you reading right now? – I’ve gone back to reading stories from Free Speculative Fiction Online

2. How many books have you read so far? – 13 short stories (and it should be noted that some of them were VERY short), almost feels like I’m cheating by reading short stories.

3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? – see above – reading short stories from a web site…

4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? – Nope

5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? – Yes, a few like errands that needed doing or eating, just did them and came back to reading more short stories.

6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? – Nothing really.

7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? – Nope

8. What would you do differently, as a Reader, if you were to do this again next year? – Probably have a better plan of things to read – more than just a web site with short stories. I don’t know that I’d want to read a full length novel since I get bored reading one thing for long periods of time, unless I love the book.

9. Are you getting tired yet? yes but it’s the normal end of the day tired and the fact that I’m way to much of a morning person! I will probably go to bed at 10pm and then get up at 5am to finish the last 3 hours of the read-a-thon. I actually wish it had started earlier in the morning for me!

10. Do you have any tips for other Readers, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? – Short stories are probably the way to go if you get bored reading one thing, but try to vary the location of them or have a set plan of what you’re going to read.

This entry was posted in Read-a-Thon. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Read-A-Thon Post #4 – Mid-Event Survey

  1. Care says:

    Looks like we are in the same time zone… So you are only reading online stuff? wow – what ever works for you! HAPPY R-A-T-ting!

  2. Eva says:

    Short stories aren’t cheating!! In fact, I just remembered an anthology I have out from the library: I think I’m going to grab it for the second half.

  3. Jen says:

    @Care – mostly online stuff but most of them were actually originally published in other print anthologies or magazines at some point. I was reading some stories from the Mojo: Conjure Stories collection at the beginning of the Read-a-Thon though, and I’ll be reading it tonight/tomorrow morning.

  4. I love speculative fiction! I’ll have to check that link out!

  5. Kailana says:

    I think reading online would make my eyes tired! Commenting is coming pretty close! Happy reading!

  6. I think short stories are perfect for the readathon. They’re also a fantastic way to discover new authors. Good luck with the rest of the readathon!

Comments are closed.