Read-a-Thon Post #3: Lost time and slowing down

I started reading more stories from Free Speculative Fiction Online at 1pm, and only had time to read one story:

Night of the Fireflies by Dale Bailey – an interesting and weird short story.

Before I lost over two hours to lunch out with the parents and other errands. I started reading again at 3:30pm and checked out several more authors on that site. Again there were stories I didn’t read due to lack of interest, formatting/color combinations, and also there were some that were no longer available where they were linked to. The ones listed below are the ones I finished. Frustrated I decided to take a break from that site to read the rest of the stories on the web site for Diamonds in the Sky: an original anthology of Astronomy Science Fiction, which I had read one story from previously (see End of the World by Alma Alexander in the previous post). Some were better than others and I’m only listing the ones I really liked below:

In The Autumn of the Empire by Jerry Oltion – an interesting look at misconceptions in astronomy and what happens when one person has too much power over the way things are. Be sure to read the afterword at the end as there is some good information there about astronomy and how people misunderstand things.

Galactic Stress by David Levine – a trip through space among other things. Be sure to read the afterword and check out the link at the bottom!

The Moon is a Harsh Pig by Gerald M. Weinberg – a lesson in how to deal with an arrogant ass :)

The Point by Mike Brotherton – what would it be like to live forever? To live longer than the universe itself?

Squish by Daniel M. Hoyt – a new and interesting way to travel …

Jaiden’s Weaver by Mary Robinette Kowal – another cool story to read.

And now it’s almost time for dinner so I will be taking another break from reading – at least books/short stories anyway. There are a couple non-book blogs I follow and I haven’t checked them out yet today so I’ll probably do that for a while.

This entry was posted in Read-a-Thon. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Read-a-Thon Post #3: Lost time and slowing down

  1. Eva says:

    Those stories sound interesting! Enjoy your dinner break. :)

  2. Nise' says:

    Its hard to believe its dinner time already! The time is flying by.

  3. Kailana says:

    Sounds like some good stuff! Keep it up! Happy reading!

  4. Elizabeth says:

    The day has totally flown by! Hope you get some great reading in yet tonight!

  5. Kim L says:

    I’m surprised more Read-a-Thon readers don’t do short stories. I bet it keeps you from getting bored!

    Enjoy the reading :-)

  6. christina says:

    Enjoy dinner and your break.

    Happy reading :)

Comments are closed.