Movies I'd like to see (Spring/early Summer 2009)

While I’d like to see these movies in theaters when they come out it’s always a gamble for me to attempt it. I’m hard of hearing (totally deaf in one ear, mostly deaf in the other) and depending on a lot of factors I may not actually hear most of the movie at a theater. It all depends on how loud the theater has the volume set (and to high can be just as bad as to low). Also due to my type of hearing loss my hearing fluctuates on any given day due to anything from the weather (air pressure) to whether or not I have a cold to how low my hearing aid battery is. Anyway the movies I’d like to see at some point are:

X-Men Origins: Wolverine (May 1, 2009) – Wolverine has been my favorite character of the X-Men movies, mainly due to the fact that he seems to be the only one who’s conflicted about things. The other characters are either totally good or totally bad which is pretty boring. The good guys are all about saying the humans no matter what – even when the humans don’t care about mutants and would rather see them all dead. Wolverine is more towards the middle and just wants to be left alone – but ends up helping to save the day anyway. I’m looking forward to seeing more of his story – in the movie ‘verse anyway – I know there’s a comic version that’s been done already.

Star Trek (May 8, 2009) – I’ve been nervous about this movie since I heard they were making it. On the one hand it’s perfectly reasonable that someone would want to do a remake/reboot of the series, on the other hand I’m very much attached to the original cast and story. I’m willing to give the movie a fair chance to see if they can tell a good story, but I’m not expecting much – the previews are a little too flashy and obnoxious in places and I’m worried they went all out on the special effects and forgot about the plot which has happened with other movies (the Star Wars Prequels come to mind). I’m also worried about the characterizations of my favorite characters – I realize there are going to be differences but again I’m very attached to the original characters.

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (June 24, 2009) – While I thought the first one was pretty cheesy I did like it so I’m going to see the sequel. I’m not expecting much but you never know – it might be fun. I might actually wait for this one to come out on DVD to rent though, especially with most of the characters being robots, and therefor no possibility of lip reading to add to what little I can hear, I’m not sure yet.

There are probably more that I’ll end up seeing at some point but these are the ones I want to see the most and am willing to see at a theater.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.