Fringe Thoughts

Since Fringe is back tonight (Tuesdays 9/8c on FOX) I thought I’d write a blog post about the show and my overall thoughts on it. If you’ve seen all the episodes that have aired so far (up to #114 – Ability) than you shouldn’t be spoiled for anything.

I’ve been enjoying this show since the pilot – there are a lot of interesting twists and turns with this show. There are puzzles within puzzles and it’s not always clear what side the characters are on. The most recent episode #114 – Ability answered a lot of questions (and raised a lot more). A manuscript was discovered that explained that a war between our reality and another is coming. We also learn that children were given an experimental drug which lead to them becoming recruits – which will eventually lead them to becoming warriors in the coming war. By the episode’s end we learn that Olivia is one of those children and that Walter wrote the manuscript.

Olivia is my favorite character on the show. I love that she doesn’t put up with any BS and can fight her way out of trouble. I love Walter and Peter too – I love their relationship and how it develops over the course of the season. Walter clearly had a lot to do with everything that’s going on and I also have a theory about Peter. Some of the things that Walter has said about Peter hint that either Peter had some serious health issues that Walter was able to cure or perhaps that the Peter we know is actually a clone of the original.

I would really like to know where Phillip Broyles actually fits into everything – he’s clearly working with Nina Sharp of Massive Dynamic – but to what end, is not clear. How much does he actually know about the pattern and is he just using Olivia and the Bishop’s for to further his own agenda? And then there’s Nina and Massive Dynamic – She stole John Scott’s body so they could read his memories but to what end? And what does she want with Olivia?

Astrid Farnsworth is a character with potential. I’m glad they’ve given her more to do as the series goes on – I was worried that she would always be stuck in the back ground with little to do other than to serve the other characters. I’m hoping we learn a bit more about who she is and what exactly her role is in the overall story line. Charlie Francis is another under used character who I’d like to know more about.

Then there are characters like Mitchell Loab who kid napped Olivia and who is apparently working with a rather large group who are preparing for the coming war along with David Jones. From what we’ve seen so far they took the manuscript and made it their bible – and have become rather fanatical about what is to come.

Like I said lots of interesting twists and turns. I’m defiantly looking forward to tonight’s episode – only 5 hours left to go!

This entry was posted in TV Shows. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fringe Thoughts

  1. Adam Morgan says:

    Thoughtful post, Jen. We agree on a lot!

Comments are closed.