"A Wizard of Earthsea" by Ursula K. Le Guin

“A Wizard of Earthsea” by Ursula K. Le Guin
Publication Date: 1968
Number of Pages: 205
ISBN-13: 978-0553383041

“This is a tale of wizards, dragons, and shadows, played in an archipelago of imagined islands. The young boy Sparrowhawk becomes apprentice to a Master Wizard; but impatience to learn faster takes him far from home to Roke Island, where he enters the School for Wizards. As a student of magic, Sparrowhawk exceeds his years in accomplishment, but pride and jealousy drive the boy to try certain dangerous powers too soon. A terrible evil is let loose in the land.”

Source: Barns & Noble’s page for A Wizard of Earthsea

I had been meaning to read this book for a while – I saw part of the SciFi Channel version a while back and later found out about all of the changes they made to the story and the cast (making them all white was the biggest problem) and wanted to read the original. I finally got the chance to read it a few weeks ago and enjoyed it.

The story itself is interesting but I don’t know that I like the writing style. There is a LOT of description/narration without much dialogue – and I’m the kind of reader who likes dialogue more than narration. I think by the time I got to the end I was mostly skimming through the text not really reading every word. However, even with skimming it was easy to follow the story as it flowed well and it was clear what was happening most of the time. I did enjoy reading it as it was a good coming of age story main character where he learns how to be an adult and what it means to be a wizard – with all the responsibilities that come with it. I haven’t decided yet if I will read the rest of the series – perhaps later after I’ve read some of the other stories in my “to read” pile.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.