Challenges and Short Stories

One of the options for Carl of Stainless Steel Droppings’ Readers Imbibing Peril (RIP) Challenge is to read short stories that fit into one of the following genres: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Dark Fantasy, Gothic, Horror, or Supernatural. While searching for novels to read for the challenge I’ve ended up with two books of short stories:

The first is Bradbury Stories – 100 of His Most Celebrated Tales by Ray Bradbury which was a bit of an impulse purchase – I had been looking for his book “Something Wicked This Way Comes” but the store didn’t have it. So far I’ve read the first four stories and I think at least one of them fits into the RIP challenge as part of the Short Story option being mystery/suspense (“The Whole Town’s Sleeping”). I think I’m going to hold off reading the rest until after I’ve complete other books for the challenges I’m doing as I don’t know how many would fit the RIP challenge.

The second short story collection is “Skin Folk” by Nalo Hopkinson, which actually fits into all three of my challenges (Diversity Rocks, GLBT and RIP). “Skin Folk” is a collection of short stories previously published by the author in various places and so far I’ve read 9 of the 15 stories in the book. I’m looking forward to reviewing this one once I finish as so far all of the stories have been great.

This entry was posted in General Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Challenges and Short Stories

  1. Amanda says:

    While I’m not doing the short story thing for RIP, I think next year I’m going to try to add a short story/week for review on my blog. I’ve really neglected short stories since i started book blogging.

Comments are closed.